« February 2007 | Main | April 2007 »

March 29, 2007

Decade of the Mind Symposium

Krasnow Institute for Advanced Study at the George Mason University is hosting the

Decade of the Mind Symposium

on May 21-22. Speakers include luminaries such as

George Bekey, John Holland, Nancy Kanwisher, Vernon Smith, Gordon Shepherd, and Guilio Tononi.

The speakers will converge at George Mason University to talk about their area of study and discuss the viability of a possible decade long research initiative into the MIND.


Jim Albus's presentation at last year's Almaden Institute on Cognitive Computing.

March 20, 2007

Visionary Developer of Fortan Dies...

A New York Times article reported that:

"John W. Backus, who assembled and led the IBM team that created Fortran, the first widely used programming language, which helped open the door to modern computing, died on Saturday at his home in Ashland, Ore. He was 82."

You can see his biography here.  He was one of my personal heroes, a truly inspiring figure.

"Innovation," Mr. Backus said, "was a constant process of trial and error."

“You need the willingness to fail all the time,” he said. “You have to generate many ideas and then you have to work very hard only to discover that they don’t work. And you keep doing that over and over until you find one that does work.” 

March 13, 2007

"Research Release" of Numenta Platform for Intelligent Computing

Numenta announces availability of Numenta Platform for Intelligent Computing under a "Research Release".  

Related Links:

Note from Jeff Hawkins

Comments on the license terms from Donna Dubinsky

March 12, 2007

Cognitive Computing 2007

Building on the success of 2006 Almaden Institute on Cognitive Computing, Robert Hecht-Nielsen, Masoud Nikravesh and I are organizing Cognitive Computing 2007. This promises to be an amazing event, and I invite you to register online.


May 2-3, 2007


Berkeley Art Museum (Auditorium)


Nobelist Donald Glazer, James Anderson, Michael Arbib, Ed Callaway, Robert Hecht-Nielsen, Edgar Koerner, Dharmendra S. Modha, Lotfi A. Zadeh


Jose M. Carmena, Steve Jurvetson, Paul Rhodes, and Lloyd Watts

Registration is free.